Samsung teases camera improvements for Galaxy S9

Source: The Verge
Date: 25th-january-2018 Time:  1:46:35 am

Share this story:

Samsung sent out invites Wednesday evening to its planned Galaxy S9 launch event next month, which is now slated for February 25th in Barcelona.

We knew that Samsung was saving the reveal of its next flagship smartphone for the Mobile World Congress conference in Spain, which officially runs from February 26th to March 1st.

 It appears now we have a date and time, with the Samsung Unpacked event kicking off at 6PM CET (12PM ET / 9AM PT) a day ahead of MWC’s start. The event will be live streamed via Samsung’s website.

Usually, these kinds of invites are either completely obtuse or subtly revealing, and yet Samsung’s this go around is a bit down the middle.

The invite text, “Camera, reimagined,” isn’t exactly groundbreaking. Cameras are “reimagined” every year by Apple, Samsung, and every other phone maker under the sun, very occasionally living up to the word but oftentimes falling short.

So we don’t have too much to go on besides this standard marketing boilerplate.

But it’s safe to say the latest Galaxy phone will likely have a slightly improved battery, a killer screen, and some nifty but potentially gimmicky experimental features. The Verge will be there live next month, so check back then for Galaxy S9 coverage and all the other news announcements out of MWC.

 

  What others are reading

  More in this section