Thomas Partey wins best player at first Ghana Football Awards

Source: Ghana/Joy Sports/EFF
Date: 9th-july-2018 Time:  8:57:49 am

Share this story:

Thomas Partey has been crowned the best footballer at the inaugural Ghana Football Awards in Accra.

Partey, who played an influential role in Atletico Madrid’s Europa League success last season, beat fellow shortlisted candidates Jordan Ayew and Albert Adomah to claim the prize.

He was also named the foreign-based player of the year, making him the biggest winner on the night.

The top award comes two months after the 25-year-old was voted Sports Writers Association of Ghana(SWAG) footballer of the year.

Yusif Abubakar received coach of the year award for guiding Aduana Stars to their second Ghana Premier League title last season. His shot-stopper Joseph Addo was rewarded with best goalkeeper title.

Former WAFA midfielder Majeed Ashimeru honoured with the Future Star of the Year award.

AC Horsens attacker Joseph Mensah won the goal of the year award.

Black Princesses captain Princella Adubea crowned her outstanding season with both club and country by being awarded the women’s footballer of the year award.

Thomas Abbey, formerly of Hearts of Oak won the home-based player of the year award.

Black Stars captain Asamoah Gyan was honoured with the Thumbs-up award for giving back to the society whilst ex-Black Stars defender Anthony Baffoe was recognized as the Living Legend.

Below  is the complete list of the award winners;

1. Goalkeeper of the Year

Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United & Black Stars)

Razak Abalora (WAFA)

Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars & Black Stars B) – WINNER

2. Team of the Year


Aduana Stars – WINNER

Ampem Darkoa ladies

3. Future Star Award

Majeed Ashimeru (WAFA & Black Stars B) – WINNER

David Abagna Sandan (Wa All Stars)

Princella Adubea (Black Princesses & Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

4. Foreign-based Player of the Year

Jordan Ayew (Swansea)

Albert Adomah (Aston Villa)

Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid) – WINNER

5. Goal of the Year – Joseph Mensah

6. Women’s Footballer of the Year – Princella Adubea- WINNER

7. Living Legend Award – Anthony Baffoe – WINNER

8. Home-Based Player of the Year

Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak) – WINNER

Stephen Sarfo (Berekum Chelsea)

Daniel Darkwah (Aduana Stars)

9. Coach of the Year

Yussif Abubakar (Aduana Stars) – WINNER

Klaus Rasmussen (WAFA)

Mercy Tagoe (Black Queens Coach)

10. Thumbs Up Award – Asamoah Gyan – (WINNER)

11. Ghanaian Footballer of the Year

Jordan Ayew (Swansea)

Albert Adomah (Aston Villa)

Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid) – WINNER

  What others are reading

  More in this section